The NBCA Player and Coach of the Year are chosen by a vote of the Nebraska Basketball Coaches Association members each year. All coaches who are members of the NBCA are eligible to be nominated by their peers. In addition, all NBCA member coaches are automatically nominated if they qualify for the state tournament. Current Bison Red team players are automatically nominated for the Player of the Year award.

From 2003 - 2011, the Nebraska Basketball Development Association, Inc., with total funding from the families of Dean and Patty Muhleisen, offered one scholarship of $500 to the college attended by a senior who had participated in the NBDA-sponsored athletic programs. The scholarship was given in memory and honor of Dean and Patty Muhleisen who were avid supporters of the sport of basketball and the NBDA..

The Gary Mouden Leadership Award is given in honor of Gary Mouden, the co-founder of the NBDA in 1981. Gary has been an avid supporter of the NBDA for the past 32 years and has remained a strong supporter of high school basketball in the state. Gary lives in Las Vegas but attends the state high school basketball tournament and the NBDA tryouts each spring. The scholarship honors his support of the NBDA and his commitment to high school basketball in Nebraska

The Chocolatier Blue scholarship is given by Chocolatier Blue through the auspices of the NBDA. Chocolatier Blue is based in Berkeley, CA. and was started by Lincoln native Chris Blue, a 1997 graduate of Lincoln Southeast. The Chocolatier Blue scholarship is funded by Sean Blue, owner of Chocolatier Blue-Lincoln and a 1999 graduate of Southeast.

All winners are awarded a plaque from the NBDA which cites their achievements.

2000 -- Dave Oman, Grand Island
2001 -- Ed McPherren, Lincoln East
2002 -- Curt Carlson, Norris
Paul Johnson, Wahoo Neumann
2003 -- Russ Uhing, Lincoln High
2004 -- Paul Beranek, Ravenna
2005 -- Mark Hrabik, Syracuse
2006 -- Mark Watton, David City Aquinas
2007 -- Tim Cannon, Omaha Bryan
2008 -- Terry Warner, Elmwood - Murdock
2009 - Jerry Eikhoff, Hampton
2010 - Ben Ries, Norfolk
2011 - Tim Cannon, Omaha Bryan
2012 - Tony Siske, Scottsbluff
2013 - Kevin Scheef, Wahoo
2014 - Mike Weiss, Bishop Neumann
2015 - Kevin Asher, Hastings St. Cecelia
2016 - Brad Feeken, Gretna
2017 - Tony Siske, Norfolk
2018 - Scott Lamberty, York

2000 -- Richard Ross, Lincoln High
2001 -- Jimmy Motz, Lincoln Northeast
Jake Muhleisen, Lincoln Southeast
2002 -- Wes Wilkinson, Grand Island
2003 -- Nick Bahe, Lincoln Southeast
2004 -- Jacob Chandler, Ralston
2005 -- Ryan Moore, Beatrice
2006 -- Matt Hill, Lincoln Southeaast
2007 -- Mitch Albers, Papillion LaVista
2008 -- Wes Eikmeier, Fremont Bergan
2009 - Greg Smith, Ralston
2010 - Brady Lollman, Norfolk
2011 Gaylen Gullie, Omaha Bryan
2012 - Dylan Travis, Omaha Gross
2013 - Akoy Agau, Omaha Central,
2014 - Mith Hahn, Fremont
2015 - Tyler Hagedorn, Norfolk
2016 - Jared Samuelson, Gretna
2017 - Tommy Leininger, Aurora
2018 - Henny Penner, Aurora

Muhleisen Memorial Scholarship:

2003 -- Brent Cole, Auburn
2004 -- Jacob Chandler, Ralston
2005 -- Drew Dahlin, Lincoln East
2006 -- Waid Vontz, Cambridge
2006 -- Mitch Carstens, Grand Island
2007 -- Tyler Peterson, Louisville
2007 -- J.C. Hall, Omaha Bryan
2007 -- Tyler Horky, Kearney
2008 -- Mike Fox, Beatrice
2008 -- Kendal Bender,
Humphrey St. Francis
2009 -- Taylor Price, Lincoln Southeast
2010 -- Mike Dentlinger, Millard North
2011 - Som Bongomin, Omaha Bryan

Chocolatier Blue Scholarship:
2011 - Dylan Heath, Lincoln Southwest
2012 - John Harris, Lincoln High
2013 - Reid Williams, Lincoln Southwest
2014 - Zach Flott, Ralston
Gary Mouden Leadership Award:

2012 -- John Harris, Lincoln High
2013 Nate Kuhl, Johnson County
2014 - Logan Power, Lincoln Christian

Dick Hudson Leadership Scholarship

2014 - Drew Callaghan, North Platte
This page last modified 4/6/18